top of page


Spring Valley School is a sanctuary for students with learning differences, allowing them to discover a supportive, learning environment where they can grow. The SVS Board of Directors represents experts in various fields with the common desire to ensure students with learning differences receive an excellent education. The SVS Leadership Team is comprised of faculty and staff members dedicated to fulfilling leadership roles within the school community.

Laura Fiveash, DrPH, RD, Executive Director

Laura Griffin, Dean of Faculty and Academics

Rebeccah Carroll, MAAE, LMSW, Dean of Students

Tammy Jessen, Dean of Humanities

Trice Green, Director of Athletics

Andrea Martin, Director of Development



David Finn, EDD 

President of the Board, Samford University

Sam Johnson, 

Johnson & Sterling, Inc, CEO

Joe Abbott, Jr., Abbott & Smith, PC

W.J. Cornay, M.D. Chief of Otolaryngology, Tenet Brookwood Medical Center

Jack Levy, Bradley Arant Boult Cumming, LLP

Hettie Johnson,MA, CCC-SLP 

Speech Language Pathologist

Heather Smitherman,

Protective Life Corporation

Erica Jewel Littleton, MS

Owner and Chief Education Officer,

Learning Little People

Lisa Graham, PhD

McDonald Graham




Paul Riccomini, PhD, Associate Professor of Special Ed at Penn State 

(Area of Specialization: Dyscalculia)

Rebecca Tolson, Ph.D., CALT-QI, Vice President of Literacy Initiatives at Neuhaus Education Center


bottom of page